## **RESOLUTION NO. 20-50**

Resolution Of The City Council Of The City Of Emeryville Appointing Zoë Chafe And Douglas Miguel Guerrero As Planning Commissioners To Serve On The Planning Commission For Terms Commencing July 1, 2020, And Ending June 30, 2023; And Amending The FY2020-21 Local Roster Of Boards, Commissions And Committees Accordingly

**WHEREAS**, the Planning Commission has two (2) positions whose terms are scheduled to end as of June 30, 2020; and

**WHEREAS**, the pending vacancies on the Planning Commission were announced and noticed pursuant to the terms of Government Code Section 54970, et. seq. (the "Maddy Act"); and

**WHEREAS**, the City Council received applications from, and conducted interviews with, community members interested in serving on the Planning Commission; and

**WHEREAS**, the City Council hereby finds that Zoë Chafe and Douglas Miguel Guerrero possess the necessary qualifications to serve on the Planning Commission; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, by the City Council of the City of Emeryville that Zoë Chafe and Douglas Miguel Guerrero are hereby appointed as Planning Commissioners to serve on the Planning Commission for terms commencing July 1, 2020, and ending June 30, 2023; and, be it, further

**RESOLVED**, by the City Council of the City of Emeryville that the FY2020-21 Local Roster of Boards, Commissions and Committees is hereby amended to include the aforementioned appointments.

**ADOPTED**, by the City Council of the City of Emeryville at a special meeting held Tuesday, June 16, 2020, by the following vote:

		Mayor Patz, Vice Mayor Martinez and Council Members Bauters,
AYES:	5	Donahue, and Medina
NOES:	0_	
ABSTAIN:	0_	
ABSENT:	0	
		Christian K. Patz
ATTEST:		APPROVED AS TO FORM:
—Docusigned by: Shuri Hartz		Michael Luina
CITY CLER	K	CITY ATTORNEY

**City of Emeryville** | FY2020-21 Local Roster of Boards, Commissions and Committees Amended: June 16, 2020

## **PLANNING COMMISSION**

Committee Type	Community Advisory Standing Committee				
Created	1962				
Official Action(s)	Ordinance No. 475; Emeryville Municipal Code Title 2, Chapter 3, Article 3, Sections 2-3.301, et. seq.				
Definition/Purpose	To initiate and conduct studies with respect to those matters affecting the orderly growth and development of the City, and to make recommendations to the City Council with respect to such matters; to make the necessary findings, and to grant or deny variances, use permits, and other planning entitlements, as set forth in Chapter 4 of Title 9 of the Emeryville Municipal Code; and to perform other duties as set forth in Section 2-3.314 of the Emeryville Municipal Code.				
Committee Composition	<ul> <li>Up to 7 Members:</li> <li>At least 4 residents with one-year residency prior to appointment</li> <li>Non-residents must be business owners, employees, or officers of businesses located in the City for at least one year prior to appointment</li> <li>Various geographic areas of the City shall be represented</li> </ul>				
Committee Facts	Each member of the Planning Commission may receive compensation of two hundred dollars (\$200.00) per month if he or she elects to do so. The members shall be allowed necessary actual travelling and other expenses when the interests of the City shall require; provided, however, the City Council shall first specifically authorize the purpose and expenditures therefor. City of Emeryville elected officials may not serve on this Committee. The City of Emeryville does not specifically prohibit concurrent service on more than one committee, provided, however, that the Government Code prohibition against incompatible offices shall apply. If a request were made to serve on more than one committee, a determination would be made as to whether that service would be allowable.				
Term(s)	3 Years, Staggered (expiring June 30)				
Regular Meeting	Monthly 4th Thursday, January through October 2nd Thursday of December (in conjunction with the Housing Advisory and Appeals Board) 6:30 PM Civic Center (1333 Park Avenue, Emeryville)				
Chairperson Vice Chairperson	TBD TBD				
Secretary	Charles Bryant, Community Development Director cbryant@emeryville.org   510-596-4361 www.emeryville.org/104/Planning-Commission				
Members	Zoë Chafe	Resident	June 30, 2023		
	Douglas Miguel Guerrero	Resident	June 30, 2023		
	Steven Keller	Resident	June 30, 2022		
	Erika Mendez	Resident	June 30, 2022		
	Deepak Sohane	Resident	June 30, 2022		
	Christine Thomson	Resident	June 30, 2021		
	C. Tito Young	Resident	June 30, 2021		
Other Staff	Assistant City Attorney				