PLANNING (COMMISSION
------------	------------

Committee Type	Community Advisory Standing Committee				
Created	1962				
Official Action(s)	Ordinance No. 475; Emeryville Municipal Code Title 2, Chapter 3, Article 3, Sections 2-3.301, et. seq.				
Definition/Purpose	To initiate and conduct studies with respect to those matters affecting the orderly growth and development of the City, and to make recommendations to the City Council with respect to such matters; to make the necessary findings, and to grant or deny variances, use permits, and other planning entitlements, as set forth in Chapter 4 of Title 9 of the Emeryville Municipal Code; and to perform other duties as set forth in Section 2-3.314 of the Emeryville Municipal Code.				
Committee Composition	 Up to 7 Members: At least 4 residents with one-year residency prior to appointment Non-residents must be business owners, employees, or officers of businesses located in the City for at least one year prior to appointment Various geographic areas of the City shall be represented 				
Committee Facts	Each member of the Planning Commission may receive compensation of two hundred dollars (\$200.00) per month if he or she elects to do so. The members shall be allowed necessary actual travelling and other expenses when the interests of the City shall require; provided, however, the City Council shall first specifically authorize the purpose and expenditures therefor. City of Emeryville elected officials may not serve on this Committee. The City of Emeryville does not specifically prohibit concurrent service on more than one committee, provided, however, that the Government Code prohibition against incompatible offices shall apply. If a request were made to serve on more than one committee, a determination would be made as to whether that service would be allowable.				
Term(s)	3 Years, Staggered (expiring June 30)				
Regular Meeting	Monthly 4th Thursday, January through October 2nd Thursday of December (in conjunction with the Housing Advisory and Appeals Board) 6:30 PM Civic Center (1333 Park Avenue, Emeryville)				
Chairperson Vice Chairperson	D. Miguel Guerrero Christine Thomson				
Secretary	Charles Bryant, Community Development Director cbryant@emeryville.org 510-596-4361 www.emeryville.org/104/Planning-Commission				
Members	Steven Keller	Resident	June 30, 2022		
	Erika Mendez	Resident	June 30, 2022		
	Deepak Sohane	Resident	June 30, 2022		
	Christine Thomson	Resident	June 30, 2021		
	C. Tito Young	Resident	June 30, 2021		
	Upcoming Vacancy	Business Rep or Resident	June 30, 2023		
	Upcoming Vacancy	Business Rep or Resident	June 30, 2023		