

MEMORANDUM

DATE: December 3, 2019

TO: Christine Daniel, City Manager

FROM: Sheri Hartz, City Clerk

SUBJECT: Resolution Of The City Council Of The City Of Emeryville Appointing

City Council Members To City Council Committees For Calendar Year 2020; And Amending The FY2019-20 Local Roster Of Boards,

Commissions And Committees Accordingly

RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends that the City Council approve the above-entitled Resolution appointing City Council Members to the City's various City Council Committees for calendar year 2020.

BACKGROUND

Each year, the City Council appoints members of their body to serve on City Council Committees ("Committees"). Terms for the currently serving Council Members expire on December 31, 2019.

The 2019 City Council representatives are as follows:

Budget and Governance Committee	John Bauters	Dianne Martinez
Community Services Committee	Dianne Martinez	Christian Patz
Public Safety Committee	Scott Donahue	Christian Patz
Public Works Committee	John Bauters	Ally Medina
Sustainability Committee	Scott Donahue	Ally Medina
Transportation Committee	*same as Public Works Comm.	*same as Public Works Comm.

DISCUSSION

Committees enable less than a quorum of City Council Members to have more detailed discussions on specific areas of the City's responsibilities that cannot be accomplished at regular City Council meetings due to time constraints. All Committee meetings are publicly noticed, and the public is welcome and encouraged to attend the meetings. Committee recommendations are forwarded to the full City Council for final consideration and possible action.

An abbreviated roster, including descriptions of the Committees, meeting times and locations, and staff contact information, is attached to this staff report. Appointments made at this time will commence on January 1, 2020, and end on December 31, 2020.

City Council Committee Appointments 2020 City Council Meeting | December 3, 2019 Page 2 of 2

FISCAL IMPACT

There is no fiscal impact.

STAFF COMMUNICATION WITH THE PUBLIC

Staff has had no communication with the public concerning this matter.

PREPARED BY: Lorrayne Leong, Deputy City Clerk

APPROVED AND FORWARDED TO THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF EMERYVILLE:

Christine Daniel, City Manager

ATTACHMENTS

- 2019 City Council Committees Rosters
- Draft Resolution