RESOLUTION NO. 18-149

Resolution Of The City Council Of The City Of Emeryville Approving Artists Priscilla Birge, Rosa Cruglez, Ana Lisa Hedstrom, Ann Holsberry, Packard Jennings and Yuzo Nakano, And Alternate Artists Stephen Skaar and Claudia Tennyson For The Bus Shelter Temporary Art Program – Phase V And Authorizing The City Manager To Execute Agreements With The Approved Artists For Final Design Of The Art Works In Amounts Not To Exceed \$4,000 For Each Artist

WHEREAS, Article 4 of Chapter 2 of Title 3 of the Emeryville Municipal Code establishes the Contributions for the Art in Public Places Program; and

WHEREAS, Section 3-2.404 of the Emeryville Municipal Code establishes the Emeryville Public Art Fund to implement the Art in Public Places Program; and

WHEREAS, a goal of the Public Art Program is to locate public art in distinct neighborhoods throughout the City and thereby introduce the City's public art to a larger audience; and

WHEREAS, as part of its 2018 project priorities, the Public Art Committee ("PAC") outlined the concept for Phase V of the Bus Shelter Temporary Art Program with the intent to continue building the City's Art in Public Places Program through the installation of temporary works of art at transit locations, and

WHEREAS, on September 19, 2017, the City Council approved funding for the Bus Shelter Temporary Art Program as part of the 2017-2021 Capital Improvement Program and appropriated \$50,000 from the Public Art Fund for expenses for artists fees and production of art work in Fiscal Year 2018-2019 and projected funding of \$25,000 in Fiscal Year 2019-2020; and

WHEREAS, in July 2018, a Request for Proposals (RFP) for Phase V of the Bus Shelter Temporary Art Program was issued and distributed to artists working in a wide range of media such as painting, photography, printmaking, textiles, metalwork and digital media; and

WHEREAS, the RFP requested that artists submit art for this program to respond to a theme of "Fertile Ground – Art and Innovation" to inspire compelling imagery as well as to encourage broad ranging possibilities for creative interpretation; and

WHEREAS, in August 2018, the City Manager appointed a five-member selection panel for Phase V of the Bus Shelter Temporary Art Program, comprised of Edythe Bresnahan and Harley Jensen, representing the PAC; Jan Watten, a gallerist and curator serving as outside art professional; Joey Enos, representing the community; and Kim Burrowes, representing the City (the "Selection Panel"); and

WHEREAS, ten responses to the RFP were received by the application deadline of September 14, 2018; and



Resolution No. 18-149
Bus Shelter Phase V- Artist Selection
City Council Meeting | October 30, 2018
Page 2 of 2

WHEREAS, on September 18, 2018, the Selection Panel recommended that the following artists and alternates be selected for Phase V of the Bus Shelter Temporary Art Program: Priscilla Birge, Rosa Cruglez, Ana Lisa Hedstrom, Ann Holsberry, Packard Jennings and Yuzo Nakano, and alternate artists Stephen Skaar and Claudia Tennyson; and

WHEREAS, on October 4, 2018, the PAC unanimously endorsed the Selection Panel's recommendations for artists and alternates and approved a motion recommending that the City Council approve the selection and authorize the City Manager to enter into agreements with the approved artists for final design of the submitted art work in an amount not to exceed \$4,000 for each artist; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the City Council hereby approves artists Priscilla Birge, Rosa Cruglez, Ana Lisa Hedstrom, Ann Holsberry, Packard Jennings and Yuzo Nakano, and alternate artists Stephen Skaar and Claudia Tennyson (the "Approved Artists"), for the Bus Shelter Temporary Art Program – Phase V; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the City Council hereby authorizes the City Manager to execute Agreements with the Approved Artists for final design of the submitted art work in an amount not to exceed \$4,000 for each artist.

ADOPTED by the City Council of the City of Emeryville at a regular meeting held Tuesday, October 30, 2018, by the following vote:

		Mayor Bauters,	Vice Mayor	Medina,	and	Council	Member
AYES:	5	Donahue, Martine	ez, and Patz				
NOES:	0						
ABSTAIN:	0		and backs				
ABSENT:	0						
				Jac	Je		
			MAYOR	XD			
ATTEST:			APPROV	ED AS TO	O FOI	RM:	
Du	· 1		Mic	hael		Luise	21
CITY CLER	K		CITY AT	TORNEY			