RESOLUTION	NO.
------------	-----

Resolution Of The City Council Of The City Of Emeryville Approving Artists Robert Ortbal, Stella Kalaw, Carrie Hott, Mila Moldenhawer, Ceci Bowman, Jennifer Mazzucco, Teresa Kalnoskas, Torreya Cummings, And Alla Agafonov; And First Alternate Therese Lahaie, Second Alternate Ana Lisa Hedstrom, And Third Alternate Robin Bernstein; For The Sharon Wilchar Bus Shelter Art Program – Phase VIII And Authorizing The City Manager To Execute Agreements With The Approved Artists For Final Design Of The Art Works In Amounts Not To Exceed \$5,000 For Each Artist

WHEREAS, Article 4 of Chapter 2 of Title 3 of the Emeryville Municipal Code establishes the Contributions for the Art in Public Places Program; and

WHEREAS, Section 3-2.404 of the Emeryville Municipal Code establishes the Emeryville Public Art Fund to implement the Art in Public Places Program; and

WHEREAS, a goal of the Public Art Program is to locate public art in distinct neighborhoods throughout the City and thereby introduce the City's public art to a larger audience; and

WHEREAS, as part of its 2025 project priorities, the Public Art Committee ("PAC") included Phase VIII of the *Sharon Wilchar Bus Shelter Art Program* with the intent to continue building the City's Art in Public Places Program through the installation of temporary works of art at transit locations; and

WHEREAS, in January 2025, a Request for Proposals (RFP) for Phase VIII of the *Sharon Wilchar Bus Shelter Art Program* was issued and distributed to artists working in a wide range of media including painting, photography, printmaking, textiles, sculpture, metalwork, and digital media; and

WHEREAS, the RFP requested that artists submit art for this program to respond to a theme of "Fertile Ground – Art and Innovation" to inspire compelling imagery as well as to encourage broad ranging possibilities for creative interpretation; and

WHEREAS, in December 2024, the City Manager appointed a five-member selection panel for Phase VIII of the *Sharon Wilchar Bus Shelter Art Program*, comprised of Mike Haggerty and Dr. Laura Rifkin, representing the PAC; Kristen Zaremba, as outside art professional; Erica Enriquez, representing the community; and Lois Porter, representing the City (the "Selection Panel"); and

WHEREAS, 17 responses to the RFP were received by the application deadline of February 25, 2025, of which 16 were deemed eligible; and

Resolution No. _____ Bus Shelter Art Program - Phase VIII Artist Selection City Council Meeting | June 17, 2025 Page 2 of 3

WHEREAS, on March 5, 2025, the Selection Panel, with Ellen Han serving in Lois Porter's place, recommended the artists and alternates be selected for Phase VIII of the *Sharon Wilchar Bus Shelter Art Program* including Robert Ortbal, Stella Kalaw, Carrie Hott, Mila Moldenhawer, Ceci Bowman, and Jennifer Mazzucco, and alternate artists Teresa Kalnoskas And Torreya Cummings; and

WHEREAS, on March 13, 2025, the PAC reviewed the Selection Panel's recommendations and recommended that the City Council approve the six finalists and two alternates, and authorize the City Manager to enter into agreements with the approved artists for final design of the submitted art work in an amount not to exceed \$5,000 for each artist; and

WHEREAS, due to technical issues, five additional responses to the RFP were not initially reviewed by staff and the Selection Panel, of which four were eligible; and

WHEREAS, on May 5, 2025, the Selection Panel reconvened, with Alyssa Chung in Lois Porter's place to review the four additional responses and the two previously recommended alternates and recommended additional artists and alternates be selected for the third year of an expanded Phase VIII of the *Sharon Wilchar Bus Shelter Art Program including*: Teresa Kalnoskas, Torreya Cummings, Alla Agafonov as the additional artists to be contracted in the third year and first alternate Therese Lahaie; second alternate Ana Lisa Hedstrom, and third alternate Robin Bernstein; and

WHEREAS, on Mary 15, 2025, the PAC reviewed the Selection Panel's recommendations and recommended that the City Council approve the nine finalists and three alternates, and authorize the City Manager to enter into agreements with the approved artists for final design of the submitted art work in an amount not to exceed \$5,000 for each artist; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the City Council hereby approves artists Robert Ortbal, Stella Kalaw, Carrie Hott, Mila Moldenhawer, Ceci Bowman, Jennifer Mazzucco, Teresa Kalnoskas, Torreya Cummings and Alla Agafonov (the "Approved Artists") and first alternate Therese Lahaie, second alternate Ana Lisa Hedstrom, and third alternate Robin Bernstein (the "Alternate Artists"); for the *Sharon Wilchar Bus Shelter Art Program – Phase VIII*; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the City Council hereby authorizes the City Manager to execute Agreements with the Approved Artists for final design of the submitted artwork in an amount not to exceed \$5,000 for each artist, and be it further

RESOLVED, that in the event one or more of the Approved Artists is unable or unwilling to execute an Agreement with the City, the City Council hereby authorizes the City Manager to execute Agreements with the Alternate Artists for final design of the submitted artwork in an amount not to exceed \$5,000 for each artist.

Resolution No Bus Shelter Art Program - Phase VIII Artist S City Council Meeting June 17, 2025 Page 3 of 3	selection
ADOPTED, by the City Council of Tuesday, June 17, 2025, by the follow	the City of Emeryville at a regular meeting held ving vote:
AYES:	
NOES:	
ABSTAIN:	
ABSENT:	
	MAYOR
ATTEST:	APPROVED AS TO FORM:
	DocuSigned by:
	John Kennedy 2C934D02DB55467
CITY CLERK	CITY ATTORNEY